Circular Reasoning

Circular reasoning is quite common these days. Everyone accuses everyone of using it. Circular reasoning, is, of course, reasoning based on itself. Such as, The Bible says it is the truth, it is the truth because it is God’s word, and it is God’s word because it says it is and it is true. Or, these fossils are one million years old, because the rocks they are in are one million years old. We therefore can conclude that the rocks are one million years old because one million year old fossils were found in them.

Now, of course, neither of these patterns make any sense, and neither are actually accurate to the belief behind them. I believe that the Bible is true, yes, and I believe that it is God’s word. But, I do not believe either of those things about the Bible because the Bible said that. That would be ridiculous. I believe the Bible is true because it makes sense. Everyone in this world today requires proof to believe anything, it seems. But what is proof? Proof is an evidence, proving one theory or another correct beyond a shadow of a doubt. There is such thing as absolute proof. When you have a video of one person killing another, that is clearly absolute proof. But, as far as origins go? As far as religion, life and death, beginnings and endings? There is no “absolute” proof. Every religion, every belief has something it can’t explain. Some have more unexplainable things than others. So, I seek out what is most logical, what makes the most sense. True, I have been raised in a Christian home, always taught that the Bible was true. And I believed it simply because my parents did. But, as I grow older, I no longer believe something just because my parents do. I need a reason. So, we’ll start of basic.

In my search for absolute truth, absolute proof, I began looking at the world around me. As I studied Biology, Chemistry, and other topics regarding the Earth and the Universe, I quickly eliminated beliefs such as Evolution and Atheism. If the perfect balance of nature is not proof enough that there was an Intelligent Designer, then there’s not much more I can do to convince you. Evolution says that nature, it’s perfect balance with air, trees, humans, food chains, water cycles, gravity, rotation around a star at just the right distance… it says all that is on accident. You want me to believe that we are just a product of chance? Evolution’s theory is about at likely as tossing 6,000 dice in the air and expecting each dice head to be shown 1,000 times, in order of 1 to 6, to make it exactly even. If you still think Evolution is true, explain morals. Our brains. You’re telling me that our knowledge of right and wrong, our consciences, our intelligent thoughts, happened by chance? Take the dice theory and multiply it by a few thousand times to make the odds of our brains happening by chance. Besides, if Evolution was true, why should we believe it as so? I believe C.S. Lewis said it best:

“If the solar system was brought about by an accidental collision, then the appearance of organic life on this planet was also an accident, and the whole evolution of Man was an accident too. If so, then all our present thoughts are mere accidents—the accidental by-product of the movement of atoms. And this holds for the thoughts of the materialists and astronomers as well as for anyone else’s. But if their thoughts—i.e. of materialism and astronomy—are merely accidental by-products, why should we believe them to be true? I see no reason for believing that one accident should be able to give me a correct account of all the other accidents. It’s like expecting that the accidental shape taken by the splash when you upset a milk jug should give you a correct account of how the jug was made and why it was upset.”

So, using logic and evidence, I eliminated Evolution quickly. That means we have an intelligent designer. And, looking through other religions, Christianity makes the most sense. I see God working in people’s lives, I see hearts completely changed, I see people loving each other, not hating each other, and these people are Christians. If what I see in the church and in true Christians is not supernatural, I have no explanation for it. The Bible is the only book to fully explain creation, man’s nature, God’s nature, and gives us a way to know the Creator of the universe… The Bible makes sense. And it is evident in the world.

So, back to circular reasoning. I believe the Bible is true, that it is God’s word, because it makes sense, not because it says so. Evolution does not make sense. Even other religions do not make sense. But, if you are searching for “absolute proof”, you will not find it. Not in this life, anyway. Logic and reasoning is all we have, and logic and reasoning will always lead us to the Bible. Because God designed it that way. The Bible is the only logical thing we have in an ignorant and prideful world.

Leave a Reply

