The Tolerance Paradox

Tolerance is what you hear everywhere. It’s some popular idea about peace, an idea that many people you know probably support. And it’s not a bad idea. In fact, tolerance is Biblical. If God was not tolerant, I don’t think we would exist right now. He would have, and rightfully so, wiped every human off the face of the Earth by now. God is tolerant because of His love for us, a love that we as Christians should all emulate to the world around us. By doing this, of course, we are being tolerant.

However, the tolerance movement is not based on God’s love. In fact, this popular sentiment is not based on tolerance at all. The Tolerance Movement seems to mistake our love for people as intolerance. I am tolerant towards people. I do not try to shove God down people’s throats, I do not force my opinions on people with different ideas. However, that does not mean I am silent about my faith. I will tell the world what I believe, why I believe, and why they should believe too. But the choice is theirs, not mine. See, the Tolerance Movement seems to tolerate only religions that shut up about their faith. Tolerance is literally defined as, “The ability or willingness to tolerate something, in particular the existence of opinions or behavior that one does not necessarily agree with”. When a religion is silent, there is nothing to disagree with, nothing to tolerate. So this is not tolerance, it is oppression. The Tolerance Movement wants to achieve peace, achieve a lack of argument or dispute, by shutting everyone up. They don’t want to hear people’s opinions because they don’t agree with them. So they try to shut them, try to shut us, up. That is oppression.

I’m sure you have all seen those bumper stickers that look like this:ImageThere’s a quote that goes, “You are not entitled to your opinion. You are entitled to your informed opinion. No one is entitled to be ignorant.” I don’t know about you, but looking through history, I cannot remember a single time when these religions got along. What I do remember is mass slaughter, great wars, genocide, suicide, terrorism, and persecution of these religions by these religions. This is not an opinion, it is ignorance. Ignorance that is based off of this idea of Tolerance. Tolerance wants us all to shut up so that they don’t have to hear any opinion except their own. The Tolerance Movement is not based on tolerance at all. It is, at it’s core, intolerance. It hates anyone with a different opinion, and says to those who dare to speak it “shut up”. It is oppression based on intolerance. 

 

This blog is a blog based off of my opinions, and these opinions are based off the the Bible. I am expressing my opinions in this blog, and if you don’t like it, don’t read it! If you don’t like it, don’t tell me to shut up. Don’t tell me I am intolerant. That is not tolerance, that is oppression. I am not forcing my opinions upon you, I am simply expressing them based on fact and information. The choice of agreeing with me or not is yours.

It is time America saw the Tolerance Movement for what it really is: A movement of intolerance towards opinions. A movement of hate and oppression.

Leave a Reply

